Membership in NCCCAA is free and open to everyone with an interest in community college archives!
Interested? Email ncccaa@gmail.com
What is the North Carolina Community College Archives Association (NCCCAA)?
The mission of NCCCAA, an all-volunteer organization, is to promote the establishment, development, support, and preservation of college archives and special collections within each of the 58 institutions of the North Carolina Community College System and to serve as a statewide voice on behalf of the preservation of North Carolina community college history. NCCCAA accomplishes this mission through the networking and exchange of information among members throughout the state, providing professional development opportunities, advocating for institutional archives on a local and state level, promoting the preservation of North Carolina community college history, and fostering an awareness of and appreciation for the importance, significance, and value of community college archives collections. Visit the NCCCAA website to learn more.
History
The history of the North Carolina Community College Archives Association can be traced to 2003, when Clark Adams, English Instructor at Davidson County Community College, served as a member of the college’s 40th Anniversary Committee. As part of the 40th Anniversary celebration of the college in 2003, Adams began researching the history of the college and located the son of the first Director who had not been connected with the College since the 1960s. He was invited and honored as part of the celebration. Adams soon began researching the history of the community college movement throughout North Carolina and began considering ways to preserve it. Click here to read more about the history of NCCCAA.
Disclaimer of Liability and Endorsement: Mitchell Community College LibGuides contain hyperlinks to third party websites. Mitchell Community College is not responsible for and does not routinely screen, approve, review or endorse the contents of or use of any of the products or services that may be offered at these websites. In no event will Mitchell Community College be liable for any damages or losses whatsoever resulting from or caused by accessing third party websites via LibGuides. While LibGuides are updated periodically, no guarantee is given that the information provided is correct, complete, or up-to-date. Users of Mitchell Community College LibGuides do so at their own risk.