24/7 Access

The library's online resources are available 24/7 for Mitchell Community College students, faculty, and staff off-campus and on your personal device. To access them, simply enter your Mitchell credentials when prompted.

Effective keywords produce relevant results. Check out this list of recommended keywords to begin your research.

allied health personnel
ambulance service
analgesics
bloodborne infections
cardiac arrest
cardiac resuscitation
disaster medicine
emergency medical personnel/services/technicians
emergency medicine
first aid
intravenous therapy
pediatric emergencies
respiratory therapy
sport injuries
wounds and injuries

Chat Now

Chat live with a North Carolina librarian for fast answers to your research and database questions 24/7.

Library Databases

Click on the tabs below to learn more about available databases, search tips, and types of sources.

A-Z Databases List

Mitchell Community College Library subscribes to over 300 databases covering a variety of topics including art, business, nursing & allied health, test prep, and more. To find the best databases for your research, visit the A-Z Databases list. Enter or select relevant parameters for title/keywords, subjects, types, and vendors in the search bar to narrow the list.

A-Z Databases list search bar

Featured, or most-used, databases are always spotlighted and best bet options are listed first when searching by subject area.

NC LIVE

Don't know where to start your research? Try NC LIVE! NC LIVE is a statewide library cooperative providing library users with access to an online collection of over one billion full-text articles, eBooks, streaming videos, digitized newspapers, language learning tools, and more.

NC LIVE contains 85 of the databases on Mitchell's A-Z Databases list. With one search you can scour them all, rather than searching each database individually.

NC LIVE homepage

Tips & tricks icon

Tips & Tricks

Here are some best practices when searching for information to help yield relevant results:

Keep it short and sweet. Long phrases or entire sentences do not work as well in most databases as they do in search engines, like Google. For the best results, limit your search terms to 2-3 words.
Break out the thesaurus. If you find too few or no results, brainstorm synonyms for your search terms, like car and automobile.
Be specific. If you find too many results, include specific language in your search terms to pare them down.
Use the search limiters. In the Advanced Search field, narrow your search by selection publication dates, author, subject, and more.
Use Boolean operators or quotation marks. Use Boolean operators (AND, OR and NOT) to link search terms (i.e., obesity AND children; oil NOT petroleum). Use quotation makers to limit results and search an exact phrase, like "Alice in Wonderland."

Featured Databases

The featured databases are best bets for beginning your EMS research. For a full list of relevant databases offered by Mitchell Community College Library, visit the A-Z Databases: Health & Wellness list.

Biological Science Database
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
Career & Technical Education Database
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
CQ Researcher
Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
CREDO Reference
Access images, sound files, animations and videos to hundreds of top quality full-text reference resources covering all major subject areas.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers
OneFile: Vocations and Careers provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Access a range of viewpoints on business/economics, health/medicine, society and culture, energy and environmentalism, law and politics, science and technology, infrastructure and war and diplomacy. Learn more about the current national debate topics.
Health & Medical Collection
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Healthfinder
Journals, magazines, and medical dictionaries on minority health, as well as prevention and self-care on a variety of topics such as pregnancy, HIV, diabetes, women's health, and more.
HealthFinder en espanol
Journals, magazines, and medical dictionaries on minority health, as well as prevention and self-care on a variety of topics such as pregnancy, HIV, diabetes, women's health, and more. In Spanish.
HIV InSite
Up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy. Includes information on HIV in other areas of the world.
International Newsstream
International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
KidsHealth
Information about children from before birth through adolescence. Topics include: emotional development, nutrition, parenting, first aid, and infections.
Merck Manual Professional Version
Explains disorders, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, and how they can be prevented or treated. Detailed instructional videos on common medical procedures can be found in the Procedures & Exams section. For doctors and medical students.
ProQuest Central
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
US Newsstream
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.

Emergency Medical Services (EMS): Databases