Skip to Main Content

Music: Music History and Musicology

A research guide for music students at Mitchell Community College.

Search NC LIVE Music

Chat Now

Chat live with a North Carolina librarian for fast answers to your research and database questions 24/7.

chat loading...

Books

eBooks

Database Search Tips

A few quick tips for getting the most bang for your buck from library databases:

  • Keep it short and sweet. Long phrases or entire sentences don't work as well in most databases as they do in Google.  For the best results, limit your search terms to just a few words.
  • Break out the thesaurus! If you find yourself getting few or no useful responses, brainstorm some synonyms. For example, is there another word(s) you could use that means the same thing?
  • Be specific. Although you don't want your search term to be too wordy, be sure to include specific language if you find your results are too broad.  For example, you may want to include a person's full name, the name of a country, or a date in order to properly narrow your search.
  • Use the search limiters provided. Most databases allow you to narrow your search in many ways (by publication date, publication type, author, subject, country/state/region, etc.). These tools are great for those times when your search gives you thousands of results, and you need to narrow things down.
  • Try Boolean Operators or quotation marks. Use Boolean Operators (AND, OR and NOT) to link search terms (ex. obesity AND children, oil NOT petroleum), or try putting search terms in quotation marks (ex. "Alice in Wonderland") to limit results and search only an exact phrase.
  • When all else fails, ask a librarian! Your friendly librarians at Mitchell Library are always happy to help you.  If you have a question outside library hours, you can chat with a North Carolina librarian 24/7 using the chat box on the left side of this page or on the Mitchell Library homepage.

Library Databases

To locate databases with articles that relate to your field of study:

Visit the Library Homepage and click on the Databases & Resources button.

 Databases & Resources

 

Use the drop-down menus at the top of the page to filter out the best databases for you. Alternatively you can browse alphabetically or check out the list of popular databases on the right side of the page.

database filters

 

If you are accessing databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your Mitchell Community College email and Office 365 email password.

remote user login

 

Alternatively, you can search for resources via NCLIVE.org. While this does not include all of the databases subscribed to by Mitchell Community College Library, it does allow users to search the content of its many resources at once.

NCLIVE search bar

Questions? Email library@mitchellcc.edu

Evaluating Sources: The CRAAP Test

Wondering whether that article you found is "good enough" to use for your assignment? Use the CRAAP Test to check the currency, relevance, authority, accuracy, and purpose of the article before trusting it for scholarly research!

  • Currency - the timeliness of information.
    • When was the information created or published?
    • When, if ever, was the information revised or updated?
    • How current does your information need to be?  Did your instructor provide you with specific guidelines for currency?  Is the topic or field you are studying (science, for example) one that changes rapidly and requires the use of the most recent information available?
  • Relevance - how well the information meets your specific needs.
    • Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
    • Who is the intended audience?
    • Is the information at an appropriate level (not too advanced or elementary in nature for your needs)?
    • Do you feel, overall, that this source is appropriate for use in college-level work?
    • Have you compared information from other sources in order to find the most appropriate and useful one(s) for your research?
  • Authority - the source of the information.
    • Who is the author/creator/publisher/sponsor of the work?
    • What are the author's credentials?  If the source was sponsored or produced by an organization, what are the affiliations of that organization?
    • Is the author qualified to speak on this subject?
    • Is contact information for the author and/or publisher of the work available?
    • Does the URL tell you anything about the author or the source?  For example:
      • .com indicates a commercially available website (anyone could purchase/own these domains).
      • .gov indicates a government website.
      • .edu indicates an educational institution.
      • .org indicates an organization of some kind, such as a non-profit or trade organization.
      • .net indicates a network website, usually used by Internet providers, web-hosting companies, or similar businesses.
  • Accuracy - the reliability, correctness, and truthfulness of the information
    • Is the information provided supported by evidence/facts?
    • Has the information been reviewed or edited?  Who was it reviewed/edited by?
    • Can you verify the information provided by comparing it to other trusted sources, or based on your own personal knowledge?
    • Does the source seem biased toward one particular viewpoint?  Does it use emotional, inflammatory language?
    • Are there any spelling, grammar, or typographical errors?  This may be a red flag that the information was not professionally edited or reviewed.
  • Purpose- why the information exists.
    • Does the source seek to inform, teach, sell, entertain, or persuade?  The best sources for scholarly research should aim to inform/teach readers rather than sell, entertain, or change their point of view.
    • Does the author/sponsor make his/her intentions clear?
    • Does the information include facts, opinions, propaganda, or a combination?  Look for sources that stick the the facts.

Remember, all current events articles used for assignments throughout this course must have been published within the last 60 days.

Always check the publication date before using an article for scholarly research!

Can't find a publication date?  Most reputable sources will include essential information such as the author, publishing organization, and publication date.  When in doubt, contact a librarian for help, or find another source with a recent publication date, just to be safe!

Mitchell Community College Library Circulation Policy

5 item check-out limit for students; unlimited check-outs for faculty and staff

Circulating Books

  • Located on 3rd floor at Huskins Library; select circulating books are available in Mooresville*
  • 14 day check-out for students & community members
  • 90 day check-out for faculty & staff
  • 2 renewals either in person, by phone, or via email

Reference Books

  • Located on the main floor at Huskins Library; on reference shelf at the Mooresville Campus Library*
  • In-library use only

Reserve Books

  • Located behind the circulation desk at Huskins Library; on reserve shelf at the Mooresville Campus Library*
  • Instructors set guidelines
  • In-library use only and/or circulated per instructors guidelines

Audiovisual Materials (DVDs/CDs)

  • Located on the main floor of Huskins Library and Mooresville Campus Library*
  • 7 day check-out for students & public
  • 30 day check-out for faculty & staff
  • 2 renewals either in person, by phone, or via email

*Note:  Items can be sent from one campus to another free of charge. Please contact a library staff member for details.

Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on Instagram Follow Us on Pinterest

Disclaimer of Liability and Endorsement: Mitchell Community College LibGuides contain hyperlinks to third party websites. Mitchell Community College is not responsible for and does not routinely screen, approve, review or endorse the contents of or use of any of the products or services that may be offered at these websites. In no event will Mitchell Community College be liable for any damages or losses whatsoever resulting from or caused by accessing third party websites via LibGuides. While LibGuides are updated periodically, no guarantee is given that the information provided is correct, complete, or up-to-date. Users of Mitchell Community College LibGuides do so at their own risk.