Business: Company & Stock Info

Google Finance

MarketWatch

Morningstar Investment Research Center

To locate company information, enter the name or ticker symbol of the company you wish to investigate in the search bar on the right. 

Once you have located the correct company, use the navigation bar below the company name and snapshot to view current stock quotes and analysis, shareholder information, company profiles, and industry peers (or competitors).

Image credit:  Morningstar menu bar, Morningstar Wal-Mart company page (c) Megan Sherrill, Mitchell Community College, all rights reserved.

MSN Money

Yahoo Finance

Library Databases

To locate databases with articles that relate to your field of study:

Visit the Library Homepage and click on the Databases & Resources button.

Use the drop-down menus at the top of the page to filter out the best databases for you. Alternatively you can browse alphabetically or check out the list of popular databases on the right side of the page.

If you are accessing databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your Mitchell Community College email and Office 365 email password.

Alternatively, you can search for resources via NCLIVE.org. While this does not include all of the databases subscribed to by Mitchell Community College Library, it does allow users to search the content of its many resources at once.

Questions? Email library@mitchellcc.edu

Database Search Tips

A few quick tips for getting the most bang for your buck from library databases:

• Keep it short and sweet. Long phrases or entire sentences don't work as well in most databases as they do in Google.  For the best results, limit your search terms to just a few words.
• Break out the thesaurus! If you find yourself getting few or no useful responses, brainstorm some synonyms. For example, is there another word(s) you could use that mean the same thing?
• Be specific. Although you don't want your search term to be too wordy, be sure to include specific language if you find your results are too broad.  For example, you may want to include a person's full name, the name of a country, or a date in order to properly narrow your search.
• Use the search limiters provided. Most databases allow you to narrow your search in many ways (by publication date, publication type, author, subject, country/state/region, etc.). These tools are great for those times when your search gives you thousands of results, and you need to narrow things down!
• Try Boolean Operators or quotation marks. Use Boolean Operators (AND, OR and NOT) to link search terms (ex. obesity AND children, oil NOT petroleum), or try putting search terms in quotation marks (ex. "Alice in Wonderland") to limit results and search only an exact phrase.
• When all else fails, ask a librarian! Your friendly librarians at Mitchell Community College are always happy to help you.  If you have a question outside library hours, try the Chat Now option located to the left of this guide or visit the Library Homepage. 

Need More Help?

If you're still not confident when it comes to demographics and statistics, or if you have specific questions:

• Call or email a Mitchell Librarian.
• Request a one-on-one research appointment with a Mitchell librarian. Once you have completed and submitted the online form, a Mitchell librarian will contact you to approve your appointment time.
• Try The Write Place for help with all stages of the writing process. Make an appointment online, or stop by during hours of operation for help on a first-come-first-served basis. This service is staffed by Mitchell Community College English faculty and is free to all current Mitchell Community College students. Contact Tori Burns at vburns@mitchellcc.edu or (704) 978-1320 with any questions.
• Visit The Tutoring Center for help in any subject. Make an appointment online, or stop by during drop-in hours for help on a first-come-first-served basis. This service is free to all current Mitchell Community College students. Students who wish to schedule an appointment must complete the application form and have been referred by an instructor. Contact Teresa Jordan at tjordan@mitchellcc.edu or (704) 978-3116 with any questions.
• Try UpSwing, a free 24-hour online tutoring service available to Mitchell Community College students. Log in using your Mitchell Community College ID and password (the same as your student email account), and instantly connect with experienced "coaches" currently online, or contact offline coaches to schedule an appointment.

Resource Links