Chat live with a North Carolina librarian for fast answers to your research and database questions 24/7.
We want to hear from you!
Use the link below to access our short Library Suggestion Form. Your comments and suggestions help Mitchell Community College Library to serve you better.
Mitchell Community College Library provides some resources and services exclusively to the College's faculty and staff. Click on the tabs below to learn more about all we offer.
Every three (3) to five (5) years, the library will conduct detailed collection development assessments of each program or department, during which time faculty will be asked whether there are items that need to be discarded or purchased to better support the curriculum. A member of the library staff will contact program or department chairs to arrange for review of relevant materials in the collection.
Although collection development assessments happen every few years, the library welcomes purchase suggestions at any time. Requests to purchase library resources may be made in person, via email, or using the Library Suggestion Form (linked below).
While the library makes every effort to fulfill as many purchase requests as possible and values all user input, it prioritizes requests which are in accordance with its stated purpose and goals, and which:
In most circumstances, one copy of a requested item will be purchased at a time to prevent dilution of limited library resources. The library will acquire duplicates of an item, in the event that heavy and continued use is demonstrated. Current publications will receive priority over out-of-print publications when limited funds are a factor.
For more information regarding our policies and criteria, visit the Collection Development Plan section of this guide.
If a request is denied or cannot be processed quickly enough to meet an urgent need, interlibrary loan (ILL), through which library users can borrow materials from other NC community college libraries for free, may be utilized.
Course textbooks are not eligible for library purchase. Instructors who wish to provide one or more copies of a textbook for students use within the library may make the item(s) available via the Reserves collection. No more than five (5) copies of a single item are to be kept on reserve at any one time. Please see a library staff member for more details about placing items on reserve or visit the Reserves tab.
Library instruction is available for the following information literacy topics:
All instruction can be conducted in-person or virtually, synchronously or asynchronously. Other topics available upon request.
Complete the Library Instruction Request Form (linked below) to request literacy instruction for your course(s). Instruction may be requested outside of the library's normal hours of operation, but please allow at least two (2) business days prior to class for the librarian to adequately prepare the course materials. Provide as much detail as possible, in your request, and attach any related assignment documentation to allow for customization of the material.
Upon receipt of the form, a librarian will contact you to confirm the date and time of instruction and ask any follow-up questions.
Did you know that you can show select education documentaries on Netflix in class?
To browse documentaries, or to find out if a particular program is available for a one-time educational screening, visit Netflix Media Center and type your search terms into the search bar. You can also filter options by month of release and format (film, series, documentary, reality, etc.).
Any documentary that is available for classroom use will include "Grant of Permission" or "Educational Screenings Permission (ESP)" and specific terms below the program description. Only documentaries with these labels are eligible for screening in class.
Faculty and staff computers are configured for faculty and staff use only and will credit printing fees appropriately. Using a station intended for student or public use will not prompt users to enter a department code, as users are expected to pay out of pocket for printed pages. This will cause a discrepancy in printing account balances.
All faculty and staff should print from the work station in the Huskins Library workroom (room 212) using the correct department code.
There are no staff computers available at the Mooresville Campus Library. All faculty and staff should print from a work station (desktop or laptop) located in their office or in the adjunct faculty space using the correct department code.
Faculty and staff printer features include but are not limited to:
Faxing is unavailable at both library locations. Faculty and staff may fax documents related to college business at the Student Services building on the Statesville campus.
Both Mitchell Community College Library locations offer test proctoring services for students with extenuating circumstances, such as a missed exam or an approved accessibility accommodation. Instructors are encouraged to explore alternative accommodations within their course structure before requesting library proctoring support. While we strive to assist whenever possible, proctoring requests are subject to staff availability and may be limited during periods of reduced staffing or library closures. We appreciate your understanding and cooperation as we work to support student success within our available resources.
Library computers have Respondus LockDown Browser software available, as well as webcams and microphones for in-house use, should testing require them.
To request proctoring services, instructors must email the Library at library@mitchellcc.edu. Provide at least 48 working hours' notice for all proctoring requests. Include the following information in the body of the email:
Instructors should notify their students of the following procedures when arranging proctoring services:
Librarians will regularly monitor the library email account for proctoring requests. Upon receiving requests, librarians will confirm receipt with the instructor and clarify any instructions and procedures, as needed. Librarians should request that instructors notify the student about their responsibilities, as outlined above. All testing instructions and materials will be printed and housed in a folder in a locked drawer/cabinet behind the Circulation Desk for quick reference by all library staff members.
When the student arrives at the library to test, a library staff member will:
After completion of the test, a library staff member will:
Research guides, like this one, also known by their brand name "LibGuides," are specialized web pages created by librarians or other faculty and staff members to help library users find the information they need as easily as possible. They are centralized hubs for accessing relevant course or subject related resources.
To request a new research guide, complete the Research Guide Request form (linked below). The time required to complete a new research guide varies, but in most cases, a draft can be completed with two (2) weeks.
To request revisions to an existing guide, contact Devin Ortiz-Hoffman, Mooresville Campus Librarian, at dortiz-hoffman@mitchellcc.edu.
Mitchell Community College faculty and staff can reserve available spaces for meetings, classes, and more. The following spaces at Huskins Library may only be reserved by faculty and staff: the Computer Lab, Maverick Room, and Workroom.
To view Mitchell Community College Library's available spaces and make reservations, visit the Library's Homepage and click Book a Room.
Adjunct faculty on the Statesville campus are welcome to use the work station in the Huskins Library Workroom (room 212). Drop-in use is permitted, but reservations are recommended to ensure availability.
On the Mooresville campus, adjunct faculty offices are located in room 095 of the Brawley building. These offices are available on a first come, first served bases. Faculty and staff are also we3lcome to reserve the Mooresville Campus Library's study room or computer lab.
To view Mitchell Community College Library's available spaces and make reservations, visit the Library's Homepage and click Book a Room.
To reserve the Rotary Auditorium, located on the first floor (basement) of Huskins Library, contact Security at (704) 878-4367 or securityoncall@mitchellcc.edu. Library staff cannot approve reservation requests for the Rotary Auditorium.
(c) "Rotary Auditorium" by Mitchell Community College Library (n.d.)
Reserve items are resources which are housed in, but not typically owned by, the college library for student use. Often these items are the personal property of instructors (e.g., textbook, DVD, etc.) or departments (e.g., model bones for medical study).
Instructors have the right to determine how and by whom reserve items will be used. For example, the instructor can make reserve items available to all students or may choose to limit access only to those students on a current class roster.
Instructors also set limits on loan period (e.g., 1 hour, 24 hours, 3 days, etc.) and whether or not the item is for in-house use only.
The Reserve collection will be maintained by the library for as long as the instructor sees fit. Library staff will periodically contact faculty members to inquire whether reserve items need to be removed or updated. A Reserves collection is maintained at both Mitchell Community College Library locations behind the circulation desks.
Disclaimer of Liability and Endorsement: Mitchell Community College LibGuides contain hyperlinks to third party websites. Mitchell Community College is not responsible for and does not routinely screen, approve, review or endorse the contents of or use of any of the products or services that may be offered at these websites. In no event will Mitchell Community College be liable for any damages or losses whatsoever resulting from or caused by accessing third party websites via LibGuides. While LibGuides are updated periodically, no guarantee is given that the information provided is correct, complete, or up-to-date. Users of Mitchell Community College LibGuides do so at their own risk.