Materials included in the library collection were selected in accordance with the collection development plan. The librarians at Mitchell Community College have completed a Master’s Degree in Library Science/Library Information Studies through an ALA accredited university and are uniquely qualified to make collection management decisions.
Materials which are under the jurisdiction of the library are those print and nonprint materials which are specifically designed to support the instructional objectives of Mitchell Community College and the primary goal of the library. These materials include books, periodicals, government documents, clippings, technical research reports, microforms, CDs, DVDs, videocassette recordings, photographs, and computer discs, regardless of whether they are obtained by purchase, rental, loan, gift, or local production.
Materials which are not under the jurisdiction of the library include textbooks, laboratory manuals, desk copies, and consumable instructional supplies.
The major criterion used in evaluating books for the collection is the relevance of the materials to the educational goals and objectives of Mitchell Community College. Factors to be considered are demands of curriculum; interests of faculty, staff, and students; subject area weaknesses; and enrollment trends.
Specific criteria for selection of individual titles are: contribution to the curriculum, correlation to the existing collection, literary style and quality, authority of the author, timeliness/permanence, level of treatment, format, contribution to the field of knowledge, reputation of the publisher, price/relative cost in relation to the budget, validity/up-to-date, favorable review, and contribution to breadth of representative viewpoints on controversial issues.
The major criteria used in evaluating online databases is the relevance of the content to the educational goals and objectives of Mitchell Community College.
Specific criteria for selection of individual journals are: access to contents through indexing; correlation to current subscriptions; contribution to the curriculum; level of treatment; contribution to the field of knowledge; cost in relation to use; and authority and reputation of editors and contributors.
Critical reviews from reputable selection tools are used, as well as first-hand evaluation whenever possible. It is difficult to recognize the future importance of new databases on the market and to anticipate student need. An effort is made to subscribe only to online periodicals that have a publishing history of at least one year, are needed for student research, or are needed in a particular program.
Electronic copies of articles needed from specialized periodicals for individual faculty, student, or administrative use will be obtained through interlibrary loan.
The entire online database collection will be evaluated annually in terms of the above criteria. A list of titles to be renewed, discontinued, or added will be distributed to appropriate users with a notice of modification.
Commercial audio materials are usually not acquired unless specifically requested by a faculty member, or unless the information contained is essential and not available in other formats. Videotapes and DVDs at reasonable prices are purchased upon faculty request for classroom or research purposes in the same manner as printed materials. In addition, the library has developed a small collection of movies, both popular and educational, on videotape and DVD for classroom use and for enjoyment by the community with a limited budget each year. DVD is the preferred format if available. CD-ROM is not a desired format in this library unless the material contained is essential and not available in any other source. Some print materials arrive with accompanying CDs, which will be housed behind the circulation desk with a note on the electronic record to put the CD-ROM in the back of the book when checked out.
DVDs purchased beginning August 2016 must be closed captioned for all audiences.
To prevent serious dilution of resources, the usual procedure will be to purchase only one copy of a title. The library will acquire multiple copies only if heavy and continued use is demonstrated. This policy applies to DVD/CD materials as well as books. The library considers alternative formats to print, when necessary to purchase multiple copies.
Multiple copies for "reserve" use are limited to five, except in unusual circumstances.
Books used as textbooks for courses will not be acquired for permanent holdings.
Holdings of other libraries in the area and the possibility of sharing through interlibrary loan will be a factor in decisions to purchase expensive acquisitions.
When limited funds are a factor, current publications will receive priority over out-of-print publications.
The library will not purchase extensive, in-depth materials for short-term research projects of faculty and staff unless the selection helps with coverage in that subject area. lnterlibrary loan (ILL) should be consulted for this material.
Disclaimer of Liability and Endorsement: Mitchell Community College LibGuides contain hyperlinks to third party websites. Mitchell Community College is not responsible for and does not routinely screen, approve, review or endorse the contents of or use of any of the products or services that may be offered at these websites. In no event will Mitchell Community College be liable for any damages or losses whatsoever resulting from or caused by accessing third party websites via LibGuides. While LibGuides are updated periodically, no guarantee is given that the information provided is correct, complete, or up-to-date. Users of Mitchell Community College LibGuides do so at their own risk.